Gluten-Free Diet

Switching to a gluten-free diet is a big change and, like anything new, it takes some getting used to. You may initially feel deprived by the diet’s restrictions. However, try to stay positive and focus on all the foods you can eat. You may also be pleasantly surprised to realize how many gluten-free products, such as bread and pasta, are now available. Many specialty grocery stores sell gluten-free foods. If you can’t find them in your area, check with a celiac support group or go online.

Gluten Free Resources and Recipes:

www.GlutenFreeGirl.com

www.BobsRedMill.com

www.GlutenFreeDiet.ca

www.GlutenFreeGoddess.Blogspot.ca

www.UdisGlutenFree.com

 

Which grains and flours are gluten-free?

Gluten-Free Avoid
AmaranthArrowroot

Buckwheat/kasha

Buckwheat soba noodles

Corn/cornmeal/polenta/corn grits

Corn starch

Corn tortillas

Flax seed/flax meal

Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato/sweet potato/yam, bean, chickpea, almond, coconut, quinoa)

Gluten free oats

Gluten free pasta (rice/brown rice pasta, glass noodles, buckwheat soba noodles, quinoa pasta)

Hominy (corn)

Millet

Potato starch

Quinoa/quinoa flakes

Rice

Sorghum

Soy

Tapioca/tapioca starch

Teff

Barley (malt, malt flavoring and malt     vinegar are usually made from barley; Beer contains gluten unless it is specifically gluten-free beer)Bulgur

Couscous

Durum

Farina

Farro

Graham flour

Kamut

Oats (unless labeled as gluten-free oats)

Rye

Semolina

Spelt

Triticale

Wheat/Whole Wheat/White flour

 

Other Allowed Foods Other Foods to Avoid
BeansDairy products

Eggs

Fish

Fruits

Meats

Nuts

Poultry

Seeds

Vegetables

*Avoid these foods unless they are labeled ‘gluten-free’ 

Beer

Breads

Breadcrumbs

Cakes and pies

Candies

Cereals

Chicken fingers/Fried chicken

Cookies and Crackers

Croutons

Fish sticks or fish and chips

French fries/yam fries (if battered)

Gravies

Imitation meat or seafood

Matzo

Pastas and orzo

Processed luncheon meats

Salad dressings

Sauces, including soy sauce

Sausages

Seasoned rice mixes

Soba noodles

Soups and soup bases

Tofu/tempeh/seitan may not be gluten-free

Tortillas/wraps

Vegetarian hot dogs